More Christmas Cheer with Less Decor.

The overwhelming dread of the impending shopping, wrapping, decorating, baking, and cooking that approaches too quickly causes heart palpitations to flutter inside of my chest.

I usually avoid stores during Christmas and keep Christmas decorations in the bottom of my basement. Out of sight, out of mind right?

But this negative mindset is so unhealthy!

Especially when we are about to celebrate one of the single most important holidays of the year; Jesus’ birthday!

I’ve been letting this consumerism like expectation to rule my thinking and my spending instead of doing Christmas my way.

Decorating for Christmas was always a favorite of mine, but I easily let myself become indifferent to the sparkle and glow, closing all avenues for the warm and coziness the right decor can bring.

I just assumed I would never find the look I wanted at the price I could afford and refused to try.

Not this year, I went into this season with a DIY plan and low cost budget for creating the image I wanted to see each day throughout the Christmas season.

I found inexpensive strands of lights that were designed to hold photos.

I typed and printed off Christmas song titles and used them as my photos.

I love the idea of a modern art, clean lines theme. So I printed off a few photos of common Christmas trees and placed them inexpensive dollar store frames!

I found a few handy down pieces like this white clothe, and wreath. I also had been given a cute nativity set one year for Christmas.

Perfect for the fireplace mantle!

And lastly the tree. I do not get too caught up in the appearance in this tree. But I do make sure little hands cannot reach the treasured ornaments we do have. We purchased the tree for $15 from a local Boy Scout troop.

You can do Christmas decor on a budget and make the look you actually want this year.

Even if you have a Charlie Brown Christmas tree or just a nativity scene, make the most of it!

Merry Christmas!

-Katie

Leave a comment