Day 21 of 40

At 32 weeks pregnant, my motivation levels to get organized have actually been rather high. I guess you could say I am in my nesting phase.

Despite the increased motivation, my energy levels and ability to move fast without waddling like something fierce or sporting my pregnancy swag, have made it a bit difficult to complete certain tasks.

For instance, we have about 4 or 5 boxes stacked in our bedroom that require “adult assembly.” Realistically these furniture pieces will be put together by my husband. As much as I am go-getter and have a strong desire to nest, my exhaustion causes my mind to be a bit foggy. I do not trust myself using his tools , especially one that I thought was a fancy flashlight when really it was a multi-purpose screwdriver.

In addition to the typical mom tasks of meal prepping and keeping the apartment looking sparkly, my hubby and I have been going through our clothing and deciding to donate or trash one piece everyday of this Lenten season.So everyday I feel somewhat accomplished once I get rid of excess from my closet, making more room for baby clothes.

The first half of this project was super easy. My husband and I would have an item in mind or just rummage the closet for a few seconds to find a piece. Now it has come to the point where going through our clothing is difficult. It takes me wondering to my closet throughout the day pondering and procrastinating this task.

Just the other day, my husband got rid of a t-shirt from middle school. It took him this long to let go of that old and worn rag. I really have no room to talk. My mindset is, well I need a few crappy pieces of clothing for doing projects or working out or postpartum. It turns out 90% of my everyday wardrobe is made up of this type of fashion.

It is high time to move out of my comfort zone in what I wear and embrace the confidence in myself that exists outside of my clothing. These next 19 days will be the hardest for us as we are ripped from our comfort zones and forced to be more than just okay with the bodies God has blessed us with. No more hiding behind our falling apart threads and insecurities. We have a better abiding place then our clothing for us to find peace and comfort.

“I am overwhelmed with joy in the LORD my God! For he has dressed me with the clothing of salvation and draped me in a robe of righteousness. I am like a bridegroom in his wedding suit or a bride with her jewels.” Isaiah 61:10

Leave a Reply

