Today is the first day of the Lenten season. 40 days of sacrifice in anticipation of the celebration of the resurrection of Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior.

Some view Lent as a restart for their New Years resolutions. 

For Lent, I use it as a reminder to be more intentional with my life. This is something that we really should be doing all the time. In tandem with living more intentionally, the minimalist movement has peaked my interest.

The concept is quite Biblical. As a follower of Jesus we are called to let go of material possessions and invest   in our heavenly treasures.

Matthew 19:21 says “Jesus answered, “If you want to be perfect, go, sell your possessions and give to the poor, and you will have treasure in heaven. Then come, follow me.”

A trendy clutter free technique is popping up everywhere and is called 40 bags in 40 days. The idea is to go through your things each day and donate or dispose of your clutter. 

I like the idea of de-cluttering. My hubby and I recently moved and had to donate/throw away much of our clutter already. So to put ourselves through another overhaul of going through every item we own would just be unnecessarily   emotionally exhausting.

However, one area of our lives that we have been neglecting is our clothing. We collect clothing and tend to hold onto it very tightly. Most times it’s sentimental threads that we are unable to part with. 

Our clothing collection contains pieces that date back as far as middle school which for me was 10 +years ago. It’s time for us to let go to say the least.

When I brought this idea up to my husband, he was excited to give this a go. At first I thought I didn’t even own 40 articles of clothing that I could get rid of, but once I considered all the tops, bottoms, outerwear, and under garments, I realized I had plenty to spare.

Starting today, we  will each choose one item of our clothing and decide whether to chuck it or donate it. I’m looking forward to this 40 day venture of de-cluttering. I’ll be sure to share with you my experience as we rip and tear apart our clothing collection containing years of attached emotions. 
God bless!

One thought on “

  1. Jackie says:

    Love it!!! I should do that too!! I want to cut everything we own in our house in half!! I want half of everything. It’s been getting out of hand lately. Thanks for sharing Katie! Love you!! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

