Venus or Mars?

Considerate and thoughtful people continue to ask me questions related to my pregnancy. Questions include how do I feel and when am I due? One question that I tend to expect to hear is do I know the gender?

With our firstborn we wanted to know the sex of the baby. I’m a planner and I felt this overwhelming need to know in order to properly prepare. It’s funny because we lived in a one bedroom. So the little one essentially took over our room with minimal decor and a feature wall. Albeit small, it was special for our son.

With this pregnancy, we have decided to wait until the baby is born to find out the sex. My desire to plan and organize another nursery nook in our bedroom, that is in our now 2 bedroom apartment, is starting to bubble to the surface. Maybe it’s my nesting instinct beginning to flap it’s feathers giving me flips and flops in my stomach. However, not knowing the sex does not bother me or make my planning OCD twitch with anxiety.

The themes and ideas I have come up with for this baby are quite neutral, yet are very easy to personalize once we have our little one in hand. Normally I am not a fan of the neutral yellows and greens, but once I realized I don’t have to take that decor route at all, I warmly embraced the unknown in the anticipation in our little one’s arrival.
It’s sort of scary to learn that the sex of my baby matters more to others then me. Thinking about it more, I personally do not have a preference as to what the sex of my child is. I hear stories of people becoming heart broken to discover the gender before birth and I refuse to let such a thing get in the way of being in love with my child.

There is a lot of pressure when you are pregnant to know the gender, to have everything perfectly designed for that gender and have a life plan for that child based upon their gender.
Am I saying finding out the sex beforehand is wrong? Nope. To each their own. I really do not care if you prefer to wait or find out as soon as possible.

I do believe, however, that we need to remember as parents and parents to be that the sex of our baby is only one personal identifier. The greater fact is that this baby is life. This little life is always a blessing no matter what the baby’s sex is.

Let’s focus more on the celebration of the fact that every child is a precious gift and less on the social pressure of what we need to do to as a parent that we unfortunately get bombarded with as soon as the double lines show up on the pregnancy test.

Psalm 127:3 Children are a gift from the Lord; they are a reward from him.

Leave a Reply

