Be Strong & Courageous

Life doesn’t stop once a baby is born, most times that’s when life gets interesting. In my own life, many challenges are rearing their heads between our home, ministry, work and spiritual lives. I’ve experienced numerous occurrences in my life where I have to fallen on my knees, face planted into the ground, and allowed Jesus to carry my worn and weary body. The waiting period of these times are agonizing, anxiety producing, always replete with a handful of uncertainties.

What do I do?

Trust Him.

I’m not always certain of the path God has created for me. He has many roles for me; mother, wife, friend, leader etc.  Although answers have literally landed onto my lap so to speak, others are not so clear. During a drive home from lunch with a good friend, my mind was circulating with uncertainty and unrest due to the search to the find the peace in my current situation.  

While my little one was in the back of the car screaming his face off because he was exhausted and hungry all at once, and my stomach was beginning to knot, a sermon by Chip Ingram was on the radio. I wasn’t paying attention to it really, but he said this Bible verse that caught my ear.

Deuteronomy 31:6 “So be strong and courageous! Do not be afraid and do not panic before them. For the LORD your God will personally go ahead of you. He will neither fail you nor abandon you.”

Wow. Lord You are so incredible. In a time of doubt and uneasiness, God lays out the truth. When has He ever failed me or abandoned me? I cannot think of one time. He was always there for me. Even in my darkest moments of life.

When I was in an abusive intimate relationship in high school, He rescued me. When my husband and I were struggling to make ends meet while paying for graduate school, He provided. When we lost our first baby only three months into my pregnancy, He surrounded us with abundant love, comfort, and strength.

“He will neither fail you nor abandon you.”

I need to trust Him in all circumstances, regardless of what they may be. As a new mom encroaching upon these challenges of parenthood, in addition to life still moving on around me, the cycle of doubt and fear will only exhaust and weaken me.

Let God guide you. Whatever it is you may be struggling with, mommyhood, singlehood, depression, relationship or work issues; your burden is never too big or too small for the Lord to carry. Lay it down at the cross.

“So be strong and courageous!”

Leave a Reply

